Book Review: My Vida Loca, Vol. 2

Philadelphia Eddie’s second book has been sat on my desk for a couple of weeks now, and it’s been painful to be so busy that I couldn’t review it. Thankfully, today I can let you all know how I found it.

This is the second volume of Eddie’s books: ‘My Vida Loca’, or ‘Tattooing: the Life and Times of Crazy Philadelphia Eddie”’, which is written by the man himself, and ghost-writer Eric Foemmel, who has written here on this site before. I should point out I didn’t take my friendship with Eric into account when reviewing this book; I like to be fair.

Thankfully, I can let you all know it’s another great book! This book is a lot like Eddie himself- exciting, honest and pretty damn classy. It starts in the early 60s, when Eddie bought his studio in Philadelphia, and ends in Los Angeles, ready for the third volume. There are some fantastic stories in this, which I won’t spoil for you all. I particularly liked his stories around Jack Dracula, another colourful character in tattooing.

This book is a great insight to anyone who wasn’t around in the ‘good old days’ of tattooing, who’s curious as to how things were. It’s probably even a great book if you were around at the time, to be honest. There’s no bullshit, no exaggerations- just some great honest stories from Eddie himself. Which is exactly why this book is perfect.

This is a book I would definitely recommend, though it might be helpful to buy the first one beforehand. Thankfully, you can get them both by clicking here! I would be quick though, as when they’re gone, they’re gone. You can get the book on its own, signed or with a CD. I would highly recommend the CD version, as they’re a real treat to listen to.

Thanks very much to Eric for sending a copy of the book to review.

Leave a Reply

