Instagram: The Internet’s New Tattoo Museum

Hi guys- sorry this post is a little late today. I’m not going to lie, I’ve been spending all my time this evening watching The Cure on TV. 15 sleeps ’till Leeds!

I think that if you’ve been a reader of this site for a while now, you’ll know that I am very much interested in the ways that tattooers use social media. Whether it’s to get word out about their shop, show off their work, or even just kick back with each other and talk, it’s all fairly interesting. I guess that because social media is such a new thing, it’s interesting how any collective group of people choose to use it.

Lately, I’ve been noticing something very cool while wasting time on Instagram. Instagram is a mobile phone application which encourages you to share pictures. It’s as simple as that- what is cool is the way that people use it. Anyway, what I have been noticing a lot is that tattooers have been using it to share some really cool tidbits of tattoo history.

Unsurprisingly, Lal Hardy is posting a lot of these cool bits and pieces. Lal is an avid collector of all things tattoo, and he’s been using the app to share parts of his collection with the world, which is really cool. He shares cut outs, old photographs and the occasional flash quite a lot, and it’s all really fascinating. Horiyoshi III also likes to share old pictures of himself and Horiyoshi II through the app, as well as posting up old artwork and things along the way.

If you’re a fan of hash tags, phrases like ‘oldschool’ ‘tattoohistory’ and ‘oldtattoo’ are always fun. ‘tattoohistory’ is my favourite, I think.

Below I have collected some of my favourites from recently. I’ll post it as a gallery, so you can click on the pictures for more information. Please also see the links below that of the tattooers’ pages- the links are webstagram pictures, so you can click on them without needing an android or apple device.

 

Lal Hardy

Horiyoshi III

Cory Rogers

B. Papa

David Scott

Brian Richter

One thought on “Instagram: The Internet’s New Tattoo Museum

Leave a Reply

